Mom

The last few days have given me a lot of ideas for things I want to blog about … but little opportunity to actually sit down and put it together.  For that reason, this post might be a bit random as I piece together everything from the last few days.  

First and foremost, I wanted to dedicate a nice portion to Mom.  I’m lucky to have the most amazing mother a son could ask for, she really is the shit.  She turned 50 this past week, and I kind of thought it would be good to put something in here about her (it’s worth mentioning that my pops is pretty badass too, but he will get his version of this when he turns 50 next May).    

For my entire life, Mom has been there, she has been the driving force behind my dreams and aspirations.  Anytime I needed a pick-me-up, or I needed to to face the facts, she has always known what to say and how to say it.  In the grand scheme of 26 years we really haven’t butted heads all THAT much (not to say it hasn’t ever happened).  Anytime Dad and I did but heads (this happened a bit more frequently as pops and I are both stubborn as hell) she was always the middle man and knew exactly how to talk to each individual to make stuff right.  I can honestly say that she is the glue that as held our family together.  

She always knew when I needed her, like one particular time when she couldn’t come to a baseball game when I was a kid.  She left me a note on an index card rooting me on.  The end of the card said “Be like the Little Giants: ‘Get Tough!’ “.  I would look to that note many times over the years.  

It’s also interesting to look at how our mother-son relationship has evolved.  As a kid it was a very loving guidance, trying to teach me things about life and the world I live in.  She always fed into my curiosities (by recording shark week on VHS tapes for me).  Now that I have gotten older and in many was have become my own person, she has rolled with that change and gives a totally different type of guidance now.  We have deep conversations about all types of things, and instead of trying to teach me like a teacher would a student, we discuss things like adults, and I get grown-up feedback.  Some of my favorite times I’ve had in my life were sitting on the back porch talking to Mom over a glass of wine (sometimes I felt as anxious as our four dogs for her to get home), there were also the times we’d take the dogs for a walk around the block, some of our best talks happened in those 25 minute sessions under the moonlight. 

One of the things that has made this transition to England so tough it not having the mom conversations I’m so accustomed to.  There is no, and never will be a substitution for Mom.  Being away makes me appreciate and reminisce about those times more than I ever have.  

With that … I love my Mom a whole lot, and hope she has had a wonderful 50th birthday.  I wish I could have been there to celebrate it with her, but I know that Dad and brother will do a good job making it special.

During the course of typing this post out I decided that to talk about anything else here would just be wrong, this subject deserves a post of it’s own.

 

 

.Image 

Mom and I exploring ^

About mdnichol87

Marine Biologist studying towards a Master's in Conservation and Biodiversity at the University of Exeter.
This entry was posted in Life Stuff and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Mom

  1. Mom says:

    No words can describe my feelings while reading your post. I love you. Its been a blessing and an incredible honor to be your mom. Thank you for one of the best presents I have ever received.

  2. cindy valverde says:

    Very sweet and touching Matt!!! xoxox

Leave a Reply

