Decisions

I had a teacher in highschool … a Phys. Ed. teacher…. who would always resort to the same one-liner when it came to people not complying with something…

“Life is all about decisions”

Yes, yes it is.  In the years since I first heard her say it, I have thought back on that quote countless times.  It sounds so simple, but means so much.

We make decisions in our lives everyday, some of them are small, like what you want to have for breakfast.  Others are of a much higher magnitude, like moving out of the country, getting married, or even breaking up with someone.  No two decisions are ever the same, with each one having an exponential number of variables causing you to feel the way you do.  The hope is, that as you make more and more decisions, the easier they become.  Having past experiences to draw on often times can lead you to where you want to go.  However, past experiences can also cloud your judgement sometimes, and may prevent you from giving the decision the consideration it might truly warrant.

I live my life with no regrets.  Granted, I have made decisions that when i look back … maybe they weren’t the best.  Be that as it may, I don’t regret them.  The way I look at it, the “me” I am right now, at this very moment, is a product of each and every decision I have ever made in my life.  If I were to go back and change one choice, even something small … who knows what consequences that could have for the present-day me!  I make choices with a combination of head, heart, and past experiences … for better or worse.

A recent conversation with good friends once shed the light on me that whether or not you regret a given decision isn’t really based on the decision itself.  It’s how you deal with a given decision that will determine whether or not you regret it down the road.  That’s why, in my life, I make decisions and whether or not they are “good” or “bad decisions” I stick with them and believe in them.  This way, i can live without regret, and if you can live without regret, you can always be happy with who you are and where you’re at.

Don’t be afraid to jump head first into things if it feels right, and don’t be afraid to cut your losses on other things if that’s what you need to do.  The important thing in life is … whatever you choose … commit to it and don’t look back!

Life may be all about decisions, but it’s how we live with them that is the key.

England sure has taught me a lot so far! 🙂

WIth that, I’d like to thank each and every person who has every read my blog.  This post will likely put me over 1000 views, which even though it may not seem like a lot … it’s more than I ever expected.  I really appreciate those of you who take the time to read what I have to say.

Subscribe to my blog!
Follow me on twitter: @sharkynichol

Stay Classy!

-Matt

About mdnichol87

Marine Biologist studying towards a Master's in Conservation and Biodiversity at the University of Exeter.
This entry was posted in Life Stuff and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

